Starting over... Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 11 Dec 2018 00:51:09 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Mon, Dec 10, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-10-2018.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Speedwork 2 (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / Long run pace /12:33</li> <li>800 x 6 @ long interval&nbsp; with 2 minute walking / 8:10</li> <li>Cool-down / Long run pace / 12:33</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>20 minutes of weights</li> </ul> Mon, 10 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 08, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-08-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong> 12 miles (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>1 mi warm-up / 12:33 / Long run</li> <li>2 mi / 9:30 / Conversation pace</li> <li>2 mi / 8:33 / Tempo pace</li> <li>2 mi / 9:30 / CP</li> <li>1 mi / 12:33 / LR</li> <li>2 mi / 9:30 / CP</li> <li>1 mi / 8:33 / TP</li> <li>1 mi / 12:33 / LR</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross-Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>20 minutes of weight training</li> </ul> <p>I dressed to run outdoors. The weather, however, had a different idea. The windchill dropped the temperature down significantly. It really wasn&#39;t bad running the sidtance on the treadmill. I actually enjoyed it.</p> <p>My foot really hurt during the run and for the remainder of the day. I booted my foot in the afternoon. I&#39;m not sure that my foot will ever be the same again!</p> Sat, 08 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 07, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-07-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong> Speedwork 1 (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1 mi / 12:33</li> <li>800 x 4 intervals with 2 minute walking recovery / 8:10</li> <li>Cool-down / 1mi / 12:33</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross-training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>20 minutes of weight training</li> </ul> Fri, 07 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 06, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-06-2018.html <p><strong>Cross-training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>45 minutes of spinning</li> <li>30 minutes of weight training</li> </ul> Thu, 06 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 05, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-05-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong> 6 mile recovery / 10:22 pace</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1 mi / 12:07</li> <li>Recovery / 6 mi / 9:41</li> <li>Cool down / 1.04 / 10:04</li> </ul> <p>This was a tricky run as the sidewalks and roads were slick with ice. It was hard to see the ice at 5 AM.</p> Wed, 05 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 04, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-04-2018.html <p><strong>Cross-training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>45 minutes of spinning</li> <li>20 minutes of weight training</li> </ul> Tue, 04 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 03, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-03-2018.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Speed Work 1 (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>1.5 mile warm-up / 12:33 long run pace</li> <li>800 x 4 / 2 minute walking recovery / 8:03 long interval pace</li> </ul> <p>I don&#39;t measure distance well so I&#39;ll be heading to the treadmill more often to complete my speed work.</p> <p><strong>Cross-training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>20 minutes of weight training</li> </ul> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 03 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 01, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-01-2018.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Long run / 12:33 projected pace</p> <ul> <li>Long run / 14 miles / 10:59</li> </ul> <p>Afterward I ran another 3.1 miles with my Girls on the Run team for our end of season 5K. I was able to run each of them to the finish line since the girl I ran the race with finished before all of our other girls. That was so much fun to bring each girl in to a strong finish!</p> Sat, 01 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 30, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-30-2018.html <p><strong>Speed Work: </strong>Tempo</p> <ul> <li>1.5 mi / 12:33 / Long run pace</li> <li>2 mi / 8:43 / Tempo pace</li> <li>1.5 mi / 12:33 / Long run pace</li> </ul> <p>I finished just as the rain began to fall - Winning!</p> Fri, 30 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 29, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-29-2018.html <p><strong>Cross Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>45 minutes of spinning</li> <li>20 minutes of weight training</li> </ul> Thu, 29 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 28, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-28-2018.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>(treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Recovery run / 6.65 mi / 10:30</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross-training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>30 minutes weight training</li> </ul> Wed, 28 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 27, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-27-2018.html <p><strong>Cross Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>45 minutes of spinning</li> </ul> Tue, 27 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 26, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-26-2018.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>(treadmill - rain and strong winds)</p> <ul> <li>1 mi warm-up / 10:00</li> <li>Dynamic warm-up</li> <li>2 mi tempo run / 8:30</li> <li>1.02 mi cool-down / 9:58</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross-training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>30 minutes of weight training</li> </ul> Mon, 26 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 24, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-24-2018.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Long run with varying paces</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1.02 mi / 12:01</li> <li>Dynamic warm-up</li> <li>1 mi / 11:04 (faster than the targeted goal range)</li> <li>3 mi / 9:35 / 9:17 / 9:20</li> <li>1 mi / 11:36</li> <li>2 mi / 9:48 / 9:38 (these were slower than the targeted goal range)</li> <li>1 mi / 12:02</li> <li>3 mi / 9:55 / 9:33 / 9:00</li> <li>1 mi / 11:51</li> <li>Cool-down / .32 mi / 11:44</li> </ul> <p><strong>Thoughts:</strong></p> <ul> <li>This was a wet, cold run. The workout was difficult on my body. It was challenging to go slow, fast, then repeat.</li> </ul> Sat, 24 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 22, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-22-2018.html <p><strong>Race Splits:</strong></p> <ul> <li>1 mi - 8:34 / 2 mi - 8:29 / 3 mi - 8:21 / 4 mi - 8:08</li> </ul> <p><strong>Thoughts:</strong></p> <ul> <li>It&#39;s been a long time since I ran a race. I was extremely nervous. The race distance was fairly new to me. This would only be my third 8K since I began running in 2013.</li> <li>The results were positive. I ran an overall average pace of 8:24. I earned a PR. I ran negative splits. I was the 10th female finisher.</li> <li>Note to self - I need to practice my sprint at the finish. That was tough.</li> </ul> <p>&nbsp;</p> Thu, 22 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 20, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-20-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1.53 mi / 10:53</li> <li>Dynamic warm-up</li> <li>Recovery run / 5 mi / 9:52</li> <li>Cool-down / 1:58 / 10:55</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>30 minutes weight training</li> <li>5 minutes row&nbsp; machine</li> </ul> Tue, 20 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 19, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-19-2018.html <p><strong>Treadmill Workout: </strong></p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 2 mi / 10:00</li> <li>Dynamic warm-up</li> <li>Tempo run / 2 mi / 8:35</li> <li>Cool-down / 1.54 / 10:00</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>5 minutes row machine</li> <li>20 minutes free weights</li> </ul> Mon, 19 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 17, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-17-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1.09 mi / 11:16</li> <li>Dynamic Warm-up</li> <li>1 mi / 12:06</li> <li>1 mi / 9:02</li> <li>1 mi / 9:05</li> <li>1 mi / 11:47</li> <li>1 mi / 9:41</li> <li>1 mi / 9:23</li> <li>1 mi / 11:55</li> <li>1 mi / 9:30</li> <li>1 mi / 9:10</li> <li>1 mi / 11:53</li> <li>Cool-down / .34 mi / 11:57</li> </ul> Sat, 17 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 16, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-16-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1.54 mi / 10:44</li> <li>Dynamic Warm-up</li> <li>Tempo run / 2 mi / 8:51</li> <li>Cool-down / 10:49</li> </ul> Fri, 16 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 15, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-15-2018.html <p><strong>Cross Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>45 minutes of spinning</li> <li>20 minutes free weights</li> <li>5 minutes row machine</li> </ul> Thu, 15 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 14, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-14-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>Dynamic Warm-up</li> <li>Warm-up / 2 mi / 10:38</li> <li>Recovery / 6 mi / 10:22</li> <li>Cool-down / .76 mi / 10:01</li> </ul> Wed, 14 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 13, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-13-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>I ran with my Girls on the Run group. We did a practice 5K in the neighborhoods around our school. The girls had so much. They were shocked that they could actually go the distance.</li> <li>This is always my favorite lesson in the program. I love the excitement of the girls as they discover their progress and abilities to perform a difficult task.</li> <li>We have two weeks until our actual race. The girls will be ready!</li> <li><strong>Girls on the run is so much fun</strong>!</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>45 minutes of spinning</li> </ul> Tue, 13 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 12, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-12-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 2.05 mi / 11:03</li> <li>Dynamic Warm-up</li> <li>Tempo Run / 2.07 mi / 8:31</li> <li>Cool-down / 1.42 mi / 10:33</li> </ul> Mon, 12 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 10, 2018 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-10-2018.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>Dynamic Warm-up</li> <li>Long run / 10.02 mi / 11:42</li> <li>Cool-down / 1.10 mi / 11:51</li> <li>Post Run Stretching</li> </ul> Sat, 10 Nov 2018 07:00:00