Let's try this again... Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 21 Mar 2019 06:29:58 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, Mar 20, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-20-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Recovery run (10:33 suggessted pace)</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1 mi - 12:11</li> <li>2 mi / 10:41</li> <li>3 mi / 10:29</li> <li>4 mi / 10:02</li> <li>5 mi / 9:28</li> <li>6 mi / 9:08</li> <li>7 mi / 9:38</li> </ul> <p>I am still running with massive headaches. I keep thinking that the fresh air and the rise in blood flow will alleviate the pain. They do not. So grateful for Spring Break.</p> Wed, 20 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 19, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-19-2019.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 2.56 mi / 10:33</li> <li>45 minutes of spin class</li> <li>30 minutes of weights</li> </ul> Tue, 19 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 18, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-18-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Conversation Pace (9:30)</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1 mi / 10:12</li> <li>Conversation Pace / 2 mi - 9:20 / 3 mi - 9:18 / 4 mi - 8:59 / 5 mi - 9:01 / 6.03 mi - 8:53</li> <li>Cool-down / 1.49 mi / 9:26</li> </ul> <p><strong>Thoughts:</strong></p> <ul> <li>This was the first day in over two weeks that I did not run with a pounding headache. The cool fresh air felt good on my head.</li> <li>My calves felt extremely heavy and tight. I was surprised with my pace because every stride was a struggle.</li> </ul> Mon, 18 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 16, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-16-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Long run (Goal: Run 16 miles in 2:40:00</p> <ul> <li>16 mi / 2:38:29 / 9:52</li> <li>Splits: 2 mi - 10:13 / 4 mi - 9:27 / 6 mi - 9:28 / 8 mi - 11:06 / 10 mi - 9:44 / 12 mi - 9:51/ 14 mi - 9:33 / 16 mi - 9:42</li> </ul> <p><strong>Thoughts:</strong></p> <ul> <li>I don&#39;t know what happened between mile 8 - 10. I don&#39;t recall struggling through those miles. Perhaps I became mindless and lost focus.</li> <li>I felt pretty disheartened when I finished. The thought of running 10 more miles seemed an impossibility today.</li> <li>My family pointed out that I prepared my body and mind to run 16 mles. My body did what it was supposed to do. I should feel satisfied.</li> <li>Also, it was a difficult week. I had 4 migraines. Those deplete me of all energy. I can&#39;t eat. I can&#39;t focus. I barely exist. I should be grateful that I was able to complete this workout.</li> <li>Here&#39;s hoping for a better week of health and tapering!</li> </ul> Sat, 16 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 14, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-14-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Conversation pace (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1 mi / 11:00</li> <li>CP / 4.5 mi / 9:30</li> <li>Cool-down / 1.5 mi / 9:55</li> </ul> <p><strong>Cross-Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>45 minutes of spinning</li> </ul> Thu, 14 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 13, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-13-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Recovery run (10:00 targeted pace)</p> <ul> <li>Run / 6.56 mi / 9:54</li> <li>The fresh air felt good</li> </ul> Wed, 13 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 12, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-12-2019.html <p><strong>Cross-Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 2.66 mi / 10:02</li> <li>45 minutes of spinning</li> </ul> Tue, 12 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 11, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-11-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>(treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1 mi / 11:00</li> <li>CP / 4.5 mi / 9:30</li> <li>Cool-down / 1.5 mi / 9:50</li> </ul> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p><strong>Cross-Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>20 minutes of weights</li> </ul> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 11 Mar 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 09, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-09-2019.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong> Long run (Goal pace / 10:15)</p> <ul> <li>2 mi - 10:15 / 4 mi - 9:37 / 6 mi - 9:34 / 8 mi - 10:09 / 10 mi - 9:23 / 12 mi - 10:09 / 14 mi - 9:38 / 15 mi - 10:00 / 16 mi - 10 :18 / 17 mi - 10:05 / 18 mi - 10:14 / 19 mi - 9:47 / 20 mi - 10:20</li> </ul> <p><strong>Thoughts:</strong></p> <ul> <li>34&deg; / Wind ESE 14 mph / Drizzles of rain throughout the run</li> <li>Overall, the run was a positive experience. My nutrition went well. I practiced my fast walking while drinking and eating. I had no problem getting back on track with my targeted pace.</li> <li>I dressed appropriately for the outdoor conditions. I wore different mittens which kept my fingers warmer than last week. I had a few problems with my running belt. It came loose around mile 7.&nbsp; I had to stop and readjust it. I&#39;ll need to consider how to secure the straps so this does not happen on race day.</li> <li>I was a little disappointed with my final 5 miles. It felt that I was running faster than my recorded paces.&nbsp; I was hoping for a stronger finish.</li> <li>I am looking forward to beginning my taper weeks!</li> </ul> Sat, 09 Mar 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Mar 07, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-07-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Conversation Pace (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1 mi / 11:10</li> <li>CP / 6 mi / 9:33</li> <li>Cool down / 1.27 mi / 10:00</li> </ul> Thu, 07 Mar 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Mar 06, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-06-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Recovery run (treadmill)</p> Wed, 06 Mar 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Mar 05, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-05-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Recovery Run (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Temperatures are back down below 0&deg;</li> <li>45 minutes spinning - We had a substitute instructor. Her workout fired up my quads this morning.</li> </ul> Tue, 05 Mar 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Mar 04, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-04-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Conversation Pace (9:30)</p> <ul> <li>Treadmill</li> <li>20 minutes weights</li> </ul> Mon, 04 Mar 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Mar 02, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-02-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Long Run (10:30)</p> <ul> <li>I completed my run with an overall average pace of 10:33. I am satisfied with that finish.</li> <li>I ran outside. Another storm front is moving in so I feel that I beat Mother Nature at her own game. The temperature was probably ideal for most runners (34&deg;). For me, it was still a tad bit cold. I ran home at mile 15 to change my clothes and grab my ski gloves. My fingers were numb and turning white.</li> <li>On the positive side, my nutrition went well. I think that I&#39;ve got that aspect figured out which is awesome and one less worry!</li> </ul> Sat, 02 Mar 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Mar 01, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-01-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: Recovery run (treadmill)</strong></p> <ul> <li>10:22</li> </ul> Fri, 01 Mar 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 28, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-28-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Speed Work (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Warm-up / 1 mi / 11:00</li> <li>Yasso 800&#39;s / 8:00</li> <li>Cool-down / 2 mi / 9;33</li> </ul> Thu, 28 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 27, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-27-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>Recovery Run (9:47)</p> <ul> <li>Yes! I ran outside!</li> <li>Unfortunately, another year of my name not being drawn from the random selection for the NY Marathon. My neices name was drawn. It was her first time to enter and she could have cared less! Not caring will be my strategy for next year!</li> </ul> Wed, 27 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 26, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-26-2019.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong></p> <ul> <li>20 minutes weights</li> <li>45 minutes spinning</li> </ul> Tue, 26 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 25, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-25-2019.html <p><strong>Workot: </strong>Yasso 800&#39;s</p> <ul> <li>1 mi / Warm-up / 11:00</li> <li>800 / 8:00</li> <li>1:30 minute walk / 13:44</li> <li>1.50 mi / Cool-down / 9:30</li> </ul> Mon, 25 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 23, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-23-2019.html <p><strong>Workout: </strong>(long run)</p> <ul> <li>Yes! I ran outdoors!</li> <li>1 mi / Long Run Pace / 12:00</li> <li>2 mi / Conversation Pace / 9:30</li> <li>Repeat over and over and over and over again</li> </ul> Sat, 23 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 22, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-22-2019.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong> (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Yasso 800&#39;s (8:00)</li> </ul> Fri, 22 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 21, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-21-2019.html <p><strong>Cross-Training:</strong></p> <ul> <li>20 minutes weights</li> <li>45 minutes spinning</li> </ul> Thu, 21 Feb 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 20, 2019 http://norajo.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-20-2019.html <p><strong>Workout:</strong> (treadmill)</p> <ul> <li>Recovery run / 10:00</li> </ul> Wed, 20 Feb 2019 07:00:00